Trunk of happiness: Eleanor & Park

P1010787

Have you ever seen those old movies where young ladies used to have a trunk full of things they treasured and loved? Well, my series of posts titled “Trunk of happiness” are going to be about things that became really meaningful to me; whether it is a book, a series, a place or a movie…you will find me rambling about it for a bit.

This time, I would like to take out from that dusty green trunk a book called “Eleanor & Park” by Rainbow Rowell.

I know. A lot of people will run away as soon as I say it is a YA book. I get it, not many people enjoy that type of literature but let me say that this story has so much more that meets the eye. I picked it up mostly because I had already read ‘Fangirl’ and ‘Carry On’ from the same author and I was dying to get my hands on a new story of hers. What I found did not disappoint me.

‘Eleanor & Park’ is not just a love story; it is about learning to accept different people, it is about how life can be hard and almost break us and yet give us wonderful things, and it is about strength. It is not an ordinary happy ending story.

“Eleanor was right. She never looked nice. She looked like art, and art wasn’t supposed to look nice; it was supposed to make you feel something.”

And that resonates with me.

I will not spoil you the book though, as I would find it amazing if I could inspire you to go and read it. But I will tell you this: I cried a lot. I laughed a lot. It gave me hope. It made me feel less alone.

I´ve felt like Eleanor does when she looks at Park and then at herself. I can understand and relate to what Eleanor goes through in the book. I saw a lot of Park in me but a lot more of him in my fiancé. I felt identified by their love.

“What are the chances you’d ever meet someone like that? he wondered. Someone you could love forever, someone who would forever love you back? And what did you do when that person was born half a world away? The math seemed impossible.”

If you have ever felt “different”, or gone through difficult things in your life, read it. You will understand why I love it.

“If you can’t save your own life, is it even worth saving?”

Sometimes, people forget that not everyone needs a direct happy ending… but hope.

“But it’s up to us …’ he said softly. ‘It’s up to us not to lose this”

I know I need it now.  (At least the part that should be inside me, because my other part of hope lives at quite a long journey away.)

Hopefully, you have found yours and, if not, you will.

Eleanor & Park found it in each other. And that it´s why it will remain in my trunk for many many years to come.

ep2

Vulcan kisses, 

Vero~

Leave a Reply

